

SUPPLEMENT

TO THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

OF THURSDAY, JANUARY 8, 1880.

Published by Authority.

WELLINGTON, TUESDAY, JANUARY 13, 1880.

22nd January to be a Bank Holiday throughout the Provincial District of Wellington.

HERCULES ROBINSON, Governor. (L.s.) A PROCLAMATION.

IN pursuance and exercise of all powers and authorities enabling me in that behalf, I, Hercules George Robert Robinson, the Governor of the Colony of New Zealand, do hereby proclaim and declare that, by an Order in Council made under the provisions of "The Bank Holidays Act, 1873," and bearing even date herewith, I have declared that Thursday, the twenty-second day of January instant, shall be a bank holiday throughout the Provincial District of Wellington, under and for the purposes of the said Act.

Given under the hand of His Excellency Sir Hercules George Robert Robinson, Knight Grand Cross of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, Governor and Commander-in-Chief in and over Her Majesty's Colony of New Zealand and its Dependencies, and Vice-Admiral of the same; and issued under the Seal of the said Colony, at the Government House, at Wellington, this tenth day of January, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and eighty.

WM. ROLLESTON, (in absence of the Colonial Secretary).

GOD SAVE THE QUEEN!

Members of Land Boards appointed.

HERCULES ROBINSON, Governor.

WHEREAS by the nineteenth section of "The Land Act, 1877" (hereinafter called the "said Act"), it is enacted that every member of a Land Board shall remain and continue in office for the term of two years from the date of appointment, but no longer:

And whereas the said period of two years expired on the thirty-first ultimo with respect to the appointments of the undermentioned persons, who are at present members of the Land Boards for the districts set opposite their names, namely :-

John Logan Campbell, Josiah Clifton Firth, Benjamin Tonks, Joseph May, William Pollock Moat, Alexander Kennedy, Thomas Kennedy Newton, Henry Stokes Tiffen, Thomas Kelly Arthur Standish, William Morgan Crompton, William Neilson Syme, Henry Bunny, Thomas Mason, Walter Woods Johnston, Henry Anthony Ingles, John Tucker Robinson, James Edmund Hodson, Edmund Paul, William Evans Dive,

John Wallis Barnicoat,

George Hart, George Allan Reade, James Green,

Henry Ciark, Horace Bastings, Thomas Denniston, George Lumsden, Andrew Toshack,

Henry Lee Robinson, Edward Patten.

Land District of Auckland.

Land District ofHawke's Bay. Land District of Taranaki.

Land District of Wellington.

Land District Marlborough.

Land District of Nelson. Land District ofCanterbury. Land District ofOtago. Land District Southland. Land District of

Westland.

Now, therefore, I, Sir Hercules George Robert Robinson, the Governor of the Colony of New Zealand, in pursuance of the powers and authorities Land District

of

Auckland.

Land District

of

Hawke's Bay.

Land District

of

Taranaki.

Land District of Wellington.

Land District

Marlborough.

Land District

of Nelson. Land District

of

Canterbury. Land District

of Otago.

Land District

of Southland. Land District

 \mathbf{of}

vested in me by the eighteenth and nineteenth sections of the said Act, do hereby appoint the undermentioned persons to be members of the Land Boards for the districts respectively set opposite their names: And I do further declare that each appointment shall bear date on and from the first day of January, one thousand eight hundred and eighty, namely:—

John Logan Campbell, Josiah Clifton Firth, Benjamin Tonks, Joseph May, William Pollock Moat, Alexander Kennedy, Thomas Kennedy Newton, Henry Stokes Tiffen, Thomas Kelly Arthur Standish, William Morgan Crompton, William Neilson Syme, Henry Bunny, Thomas Mason, Walter Woods Johnston, Henry Anthony Ingles, John Tucker Robinson, James Edmund Hodson, Edmund Paul, William Evans Dive,

John Wallis Barnicoat,

George Hart, George Allan Reade,

James Green, Henry Clark, Horace Bastings, Thomas Denniston, George Lumsden, Andrew Toshack,

Henry Lee Robinson, Edward Patten,

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor, at Wellington, this eighth day of January, one thousand eight hundred and eighty.

WM. Rolleston, Minister of Lands.

Superintendent Collectors of Agricultural Statistics appointed.

Colonial Secretary's Office,
Wellington, 7th January, 1880.

HIS Excellency the Governor has been pleased to
appoint the undermentioned gentlemen to be

Superintendent Collectors of Agricultural Statistics for the collection of February, 1880, under "The Census Act, 1877," and to define that the district for which each shall act shall be that portion of the colony comprised by the counties or parts of counties specified opposite his name, including the boroughs within their defined boundaries.

Names of Superintendent Collectors.

Counties in Districts

Names of Superintendent Collectors. Counties in Districts.	
James H. Greenway	Mongonui, Bay of Islands, Hokianga, Wangarei, and Hobson.
John King	Rodney, Waitemata, Eden, Manu- kau, Coromandel, Thames, and Piako.
Herbert W. Brabant	Tauranga, Whakatane, East Taupo, and West Taupo.
Edwin Turner Woon	Cook and Wairoa.
James M. Gelling	{ Waikato, Waipa, Raglan, and Ka- whia.
J. H. M. Good	Taranaki.
Garland W. Woon	Patea and Wanganui.
F. M. Deighton	Rangitikei and Manawatu.
Richard Carter	Hawke's Bay and Waipawa.
Herbert S. Wardell	East Wairarapa and West Waira rapa.
Edward J. von Dadelszen Hutt.	
John J. W. White	Sounds, Marlborough and Kaikoura.
Harry C. S. Baddeley	Waimea, Collingwood, and part Amuri, north of Clarence River.
William S. Munday	Buller and Inangahua.
Gerhard Mueller	Grey and Westland.
	(Part Amuri, south of Clarence River,
Frederick de C. Male	t Cheviot, Ashley, Akaroa, Selwyn, and Ashburton.
Charles E. Cooper	Geraldine and Waimate.
Andrew Thompson	Waitaki and part Waikouaiti, north of Waitati Stream.
Jackson Keddell	Vincent, Maniatoto, and Lake.
James P. Simpson	Peninsula, Taieri, and part Wai- kouaiti, south of Waitati Stream.
Edgar H. Carew	Bruce, Tuapeka, and Clutha.
William G. Fox	Southland, Wallace, Fiord, and
William G. Fox	··· { Stewart Island.
WM. ROLLESTON,	

Thursday, 22nd January instant, to be a Holiday in Government Offices, Wellington.

Colonial Secretary's Office, Wellington, 13th January, 1880.

(in absence of the Colonial Secretary).

THURSDAY, the 22nd instant, being the anniversary of the settlement of Wellington, will be observed as a public holiday in the offices of the Government within the Provincial District of Wellington.

JOHN HALL.

By Authority: GEORGE DIDSBURY, Government Printer. Wellington.